News & Announcements

Federal election results: what our experts are saying

October 22, 2019

The Liberals, led by Justin Trudeau, are heading back to parliament for a second consecutive term as the governing party, although they’ll need to negotiate support from at least one other party in order to pass any legislation while they are in office. Here is what some of our political scientists had to say about […]

Keep Reading

Remembering Peter Silcox (1939 – 2019)

October 16, 2019

The Department was deeply saddened to learn of the death of Professor Peter Silcox, who passed away on October 12 at the age of 80. Peter came to the University of Toronto in 1961 from Britain, having recently completed a B.A. at Bristol and a Diploma in Social Administration at the LSE. He intended to […]

Keep Reading

Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award

September 30, 2019

Congratulations to Nathaniel Gilmore who was recently selected as the winner of the St. George Campus 2017/18 Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award. The committee, comprised of Professors Grace Skogstad, Erin Tolley and TA Coordinator Ryan Hurl thanked him for his dedication to teaching saying: “Our students have benefited immensely from his energy and careful work.” Nathaniel, […]

Keep Reading

ASA Charles Tilly Award

September 26, 2019

Congratulations to Associate Professor Diana Fu whose book Mobilizing without the Masses: Control and Contention in China was a co-winner of ASA’s (American Sociological Association) 2019 Charles Tilly Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Book Award from the Collective Behaviour and Social Movements section. Established in 1986, the award recognizes a publication that has added to the field.     […]

Keep Reading

Remembering Jean Edward Smith (1932 – 2019)

September 17, 2019

The Department has lost one of its eminent professors emeriti. Jean Edward Smith served in the Department of Political Science and its precursor, the Department of Political Economy, for thirty-five years. He left Dartmouth and joined us in 1965. He loved teaching undergraduates, and he introduced several generations to comparative politics, American politics and foreign […]

Keep Reading

APSA Dissertation Award

September 9, 2019

Congratulations to alumnus Igor Shoikhedbrod who has been awarded APSA’s 2019 New Political Science Dissertation Award for his dissertation “Rights Discourse and Economic Domination: Thinking Beyond the Narrow Horizon of Liberal Justice,” (University of Toronto, 2018). This award is given to ‘an outstanding Political Science dissertation finished within the previous year of the APSA meeting which exemplifies the […]

Keep Reading

Mildred A. Schwartz Lifetime Achievement Award

August 22, 2019

Congratulations to Dr. Grace Skogstad who has been awarded APSA’s annual Mildred A. Schwartz Lifetime Achievement Award (2019) which honours one of the leading lights in the field of Political Sociology who have made significant contributions to the study of Canadian politics, either through the development of political analysis of Canada or through incorporating Canada as […]

Keep Reading

RBC Chair in Economic and Public Policy

August 12, 2019

Congratulations to Professor Linda White who has been appointed as the next RBC Chair in Economic and Public Policy. This Chair is held by a member of the Departments of Political Science or Economics on a five year rotating basis, and is bestowed on an internationally renowned scholar who will provide intellectual leadership in policy research, development […]

Keep Reading

Book award

July 26, 2019

Yet another book award for Sylvia Baskevkin as her book ‘Women as Foreign Policy Leaders: National Security and Gender Politics in Superpower America’ is among the 24 best new International Relations Books (2019) from BookAuthority, the world’s leading site for nonfiction book recommendations. Congratulations Sylvia!

Keep Reading

Grace Skogstad chosen as President of IPPA

July 25, 2019

Congratulations to Professor Grace Skogstad chosen for a two year term (2019 – 2021) as the President of the International Public Policy Association (IPPA), a non-profit organisation that promotes scientific research in the field of Public Policy and its international development. It holds the world’s largest biennial international conference of public policy scholars, and summer and […]

Keep Reading