News & Announcements

New Trinity College Associates

July 17, 2019

Congratulations to Professors Aisha Ahmad and Matthew Walton who have both been appointed as Associates of University of Toronto’s Trinity College, each for a two-year term, effective July 1, 2019. According to the website, Trinity’s Fellows and Associates “play an active role in the life of the College. Enhancing the student experience and enriching the […]

Keep Reading

New Faces

July 16, 2019

The Department of Political Science extends a very warm welcome to all our new faculty and Postdoctoral Fellows who joined us on July 1st! ELIZABETH ACORN: Liz is joining the Department as an Assistant Professor. She will be teaching courses in public law and international relations and continuing her research on international law and the […]

Keep Reading

APSA Honorary Mention

July 10, 2019

Congratulations to Professor Shivaji Mukherjee on receiving an honorable mention for the APSA Mary Parker Follett prize for his article “Colonial Origins of Maoist Insurgency in India: Historical Institutions and Civil War.” The award, given by the APSA Politics and History section, recognizes the best article published on politics and history published in the preceding year.

Keep Reading

Article Award

July 4, 2019

Congratulations to Professor Diana Fu, a recent recipient of a 2019 Distinguished Scholarly Article Award from the American Sociological Association’s Labor Movements Section for her article ‘Fragmented control: Governing contentious labor organizations in China,’ published in Governance.       

Keep Reading

New appointments

June 28, 2019

Our latest UTSG faculty appointments (July 1) include Kenichi Ariga (to Associate Professor, Teaching Stream) Jonathan Craft (to Associate Professor) and Kanta Murali (to Associate Professor). At UTM, Erin Tolley has been promoted to the rank of Associate Professor and at UTSC, Diana Fu, Robert Schertzer and Torrey Shanks have all been promoted to the […]

Keep Reading

Canada Research Chair in Global Governance & Civil Society

June 17, 2019

University of Toronto Political Scientist Wendy Wong has been awarded the Canada Research Chair in Global Governance and Civil Society. Wong, whose main research interests lie in the politics of organization, why human beings choose to act collectively, their choices to go about doing it, and the effects of those choices, said she is grateful for the opportunity […]

Keep Reading

CPP Fellowship

June 6, 2019

Congratulations to Assistant Professor Matthew Walton who has been selected for a CPP (Centre for Community Partnerships) Community-Engaged Teaching Faculty Fellowship for the 2019 – 2020 academic year. The aim of this pilot program is to support innovative instructors across the University of Toronto to develop new, or enhance existing Community-Engaged Learning (CEL) or Community-Engaged […]

Keep Reading


June 6, 2019

Congratulations to Professor Sylvia Bashevkin and alumna Alexandre Pelletier who both won awards this week at the 2019 CPSA annual conference. Professor Bashevkin won the 2019 CPSA Prize in International Relations while Alexandre was the winner of the Vincent-Lemieux prize for the best dissertation. Congratulations to both!        

Keep Reading

Dissertation Prize

June 3, 2019

Congratulations to Assistant Professor Egor Lazarev, winner of 2019 Law and Society Association’s (LSA) Dissertation Prize for his dissertation, “Laws in Conflict: Legacies of War and Legal Pluralism in Chechnya.” The Law and Society Association presents one award annually to the dissertation that best represents outstanding work in law and society research in the interdisciplinary […]

Keep Reading

Governor General Gold Medal Award

May 23, 2019

Congratulations to Alexandre Pelletier who yesterday received a 2019 Governor General Gold Medal Award, one of the most prestigious awards that a student at a Canadian educational institution can receive. At U of T, the Gold Medal is awarded to three students who achieve the highest academic standing at the graduate level and was first […]

Keep Reading