Fall/Winter Timetable

POL2040H1F L0101

Horizons of Political Reflection


A survey of the political philosophy of twelve of the most radical and intellectually ambitious political philosophers of the 20th century. The course is primarily intended for graduate students with limited previous background in political theory. Intended for students who must fulfill the Department’s Theory requirement, the course will aim at sketching the intellectual range of political philosophy in the 20th century, with an emphasis on breadth rather than depth.


One essay or selection by each of the 12 philosophers covered in the course: Hannah Arendt, Michael Oakeshott, Leo Strauss, Karl Löwith, Eric Voegelin, Simone Weil, Alasdair MacIntyre, Michel Foucault, Hans-Georg Gadamer, Jürgen Habermas, John Rawls, Richard Rorty. A collection of readings can be purchased at the bookstore.

Format and Requirements

Two-hour weekly seminar. Seminar participation and assignments; term paper.