Recapping the ISA Conference

February 23, 2015

At this year’s annual meeting of the International Studies Association, held last week in New Orleans, special awards were given to several U of T faculty members.

Department Chair Louis Pauly received the Distinguished Scholar Award from the International Political Economy Section. The award was created in 1989 to “recognize senior scholars of exceptional merit whose influence and intellectual works will likely continue to have an impact on the field for years to come.” Past recipients have included Albert Hirschman, Robert Cox, Susan Strange, Robert Keohane, Peter Katzenstein, and John Ruggie.

And Joe Carens’ much-honoured book, “The Ethics of Immigration,” won ‘best-book of the year’ awards from both the International Ethics Section and the Ethnicity, Nationalism and Migration Section.

As well, Professor Matthew Hoffmann (and his co-writers) received an honourable mention in the Environmental Studies section for their book “Transnational Climate Governance”.

Said Kathryn Hochstetler, Professor of Political Science from the University of Waterloo:

“This collaborative work is a superb example of the dance between inductive and deductive analysis, and of generation of compelling new research questions through the analysis (and questioning) of existing patterns of governance. Committee members found the notions of the production of ‘governance spaces’ and the shifting ground of authority and legitimacy, the discussion of spatial clustering of participation in TCCG initiatives, and the discussion of how to contact governance systems especially useful.”

To read more about the conference, check out the Conference website here.