News & Announcements

Neil Nevitte describes how national pride and nationlism have diverged

August 31, 2010

What does Feist think about potash? In other countries, where a sense of economic sovereignty still gets people going, this would not be a completely ironic kind of question. We know, for example, that Björk cares passionately about resisting the foreign takeover of one of Iceland’s geothermal power companies. The outspoken singer-songwriter has called for […]

Keep Reading

Canadians get the Question Period they deserve, writes Nelson Wiseman in the Globe and Mail

August 30, 2010

After the collapse of the Soviet Union, a parliamentary delegation from one of the newly independent Baltic states visited Ottawa to observe Canada’s democratic institutions in action. As is common for such groups, they were ushered into Question Period, Parliament’s most extensively covered activity. Shocked at the spectacle, they cringed. Is this how political debate […]

Keep Reading

Chris Cochrane joins faculty of UTSC

August 25, 2010

University of Toronto, Scarborough, welcomes a new Assistant Professor, Christopher Cochrane. Dr Cochrane has a Ph.D. in political science from U of T, a Master’s degree in political science from McGill, and a Bachelor’s degree in political science and history from St. Thomas University in Fredericton, NB.  He studies mass/elite and left/right differences in the […]

Keep Reading

Aurel Braun questions Russia's refuelling of Iranian reactor in the Globe and Mail

August 20, 2010

An old issue – Russia’s construction of a nuclear reactor in the Iranian city of Bushehr – seemingly indolent for so many years, suddenly turned virulent this month when the Russians announced they would begin fuelling the mammoth reactor. It’s a decision likely to prove dangerous both in terms of substance and symbolism. For many […]

Keep Reading

Three original works of art donated to Political Science lounge

August 13, 2010

Visitors to the Political Science lounge will have noticed some recent aesthetic improvements in the form of three works of art, which were recently donated by the artists. One of the sculptures is by Prof. Ronald Beiner, Professor and Chair at UTM. The other two pieces, a ceramic sculpture and a wall mural, are by […]

Keep Reading

Companies that own cyberspace offer little reassurance on privacy, writes Ron Deibert in the Globe and Mail

August 9, 2010

There’s a story about a 1960s British intelligence chief who was so frustrated and confused by the proliferation of meaningless acronyms and code names for spying missions that he turned to an assistant and asked in exasperation: “Now, just what on earth does this KUWAIT refer to?” Listening to stories about BlackBerry and the United […]

Keep Reading

Political Science graduate honoured by Best Paper Award from APSA

August 3, 2010

Dr. Jennifer Nelles has been selected by the American Political Science Association for the Best Paper Award of the Urban Politics section. The award is for her presentation of her paper “Cooperation and Capacity: Exploring the Sources and Limits of City-Region Governance,” which was based on her University of Toronto Ph.D. thesis which she defended […]

Keep Reading

Faculty Positions

July 28, 2010

Sessional Positions Department: Political Science – University of Toronto – St. George Course: POL 208Y1Y, POL 224Y1Y, POL 316Y1Y, POL 326Y1Y, POL 340Y1Y, POL 438H1/2321 (F), POL 438H1/2321H1 (S), POL 494H1 (Y) Posting Date: Thursday, May 1, 2014 Closing Date: 4:00 p.m., Monday, June 2, 2014 Job Postings Department: Political Science – University of Toronto – St. George […]

Keep Reading

Nelson Wiseman won't rule out a hip-hop president for Haiti

July 27, 2010

In the best traditions of star power translating into political dynamite, rapper Wyclef Jean is hoping his popularity can propel him into Haiti’s presidential palace. An unnamed Haitian government official tells the Ottawa-area daily Le Droit the U.S. hip-hop star has handed in his nomination and is waiting for the paperwork to be finalized by […]

Keep Reading

David Cameron describes a glimmer of hope for Somalia in the Globe and Mail

July 20, 2010

Somalia is in the midst of a bold experiment: to see whether the development of a new constitution can help to bring peace to a country in desperate straits. Mired in violence and civil disorder, Somalia is No. 1 on the Failed States Index of Foreign Policy/The Fund for Peace. Pretty much the only thing […]

Keep Reading