News & Announcements

Ramin Jahanbegloo wins UN Peace prize

October 30, 2009

Research Fellow Ramin Jahanbegloo is the recipient of the 30th Peace Prize awarded by the United Nations Association in Spain (UNA).

Keep Reading

Robert Sparling wins Strauss Award

August 18, 2009

Recent PhD graduate Robert Sparling is the 2009 recipient of the Leo Strauss Award for his doctoral dissertation on Johann Georg Hamann and the Enlightenment Project. The Leo Strauss Award is made annually by the American Political Science Association for the best doctoral dissertation in in the field of political philosophy. Congratulations to Robert and […]

Keep Reading

Iran's cyber-revolution aided by Professor Ronald Deibert

July 9, 2009

The Globe and Mail reports that Psiphon, a censorship avoidance tool developed by University of Toronto Political Science Professor Ronald Deibert, is being used throughout Iran to ‘push’ government-blocked Internet content to Iranian activists. See the full story at

Keep Reading

Graham White named President-Elect of the Canadian Political Science Association

June 16, 2009

Graham White has been named President-Elect of the Canadian Political Science Association. His term as President will run from June 2010 to June 2011.

Keep Reading

CIC Research Fellowship Program releases inaugural paper

June 15, 2009

The CIC Research Program is proud to present the inaugural final paper from its 2008/2009 fellowship program. In this paper, Dr. Franklyn Griffiths calls for a complete overhaul in the way Canadians think of, and the way Canada acts towards, the Arctic as a region.

Keep Reading

David Wolfe named Royal Bank Chair in Public and Economic Policy

June 14, 2009

David Wolfe has been named the Royal Bank Chair in Public and Economic Policy. The chair supports research initiatives and provides intellectual leadership in the areas of public and economic policy research, development and implementation.

Keep Reading

Vincent Pouliot wins Lemieux Dissertation Prize

June 14, 2009

Recent PhD graduate Vincent Pouliot was awarded the CPSA’s Vincent Lemieux Dissertation Prize at the 2009 CPSA Conference in Ottawa for his thesis entitled Security Community In and Through Practice: The Power Politics of Russia-NATO Diplomacy. The two other finalists were also recent U of T graduates Martin Papillon and Robert Sparling.

Keep Reading

Clifton van der Linden wins Sedra Distinguished Graduate Award

June 13, 2009

PhD candidate Clifton van der Linden was presented with the Adel S. Sedra Distinguished Graduate Award at a ceremony honouring the 2009 recipients of the University of Toronto Alumni Association Awards of Excellence. The Sedra Award recognizes academic excellence in a doctoral program at the University of Toronto as well as outstanding extra-curricular and community leadership.

Keep Reading

Debra Thompson wins McMenemy Prize

June 12, 2009

PhD candidate Debra Thompson won the John McMenemy Prize for the best article published in English or in French in the Canadian Journal of Political Science in 2008 for her article, ‘Is Race Political?’, published in the September 2008 issue of CJPS.

Keep Reading

Sarah Yun wins Dean's Student Leadership Award

February 9, 2009

Sarah Yun, a fourth-year Trinity College student in English and political science, is this year’s recipient of the Dean’s Student Leadership Award. 

Keep Reading