Annual Undergraduate Awards celebrated virtually for second year

January 27, 2022

Congratulations to all of our 2020/21 undergraduate award & scholarship recipients!

For the second year running, the annual event, which celebrates our students dedication, commitment, talent and resilience, was held virtually and attended by several faculty, students, donors and staff.

Associate Chair and Undergraduate Director Dickson Eyoh, M.C. for the celebrations, acknowledged the academic challenges another year of the pandemic has brought, saying: “It’s been another exceptional year. This event is one of the highlights of the departmental calendar and a time when we gather to celebrate the achievements and excellence of our students. It is always enjoyable to be able to do this on the third floor of Sidney Smith, with our political science community in attendance. My hope was that our inability to gather in person last year was exceptional. Unfortunately, the forces that be conspired to propel us into another year of the pandemic. Nonetheless, it is a pleasure to be able to gather virtually for this event to recognise an exceptional group of students. In our department, we have students from all across Canada, and indeed the world with different interests and motivations. As faculty, it is an honour to to say we teach these students because often, we learn more from them than any knowledge we might impart.” Professor Eyoh also thanked the organizing staff and the generosity of the donors without which, these awards would not be possible.

Interim Chair Professor Ryan Balot welcomed and congratulated all the award winners and was delighted to have the opportunity to honour their accomplishments. “We recognize that working with great industry and intelligence during this past year has been difficult because of the pandemic and I’d like to congratulate you on the dedication, resilience, and academic potential that you’ve displayed in achieving so much over the past year. I would like to thank our donors for being here and our undergraduate staff, Elizabeth Jagdeo and Mary-Alice Bailey, for helping our program run so well, efficiently and wisely. Finally, I would like to thank Professor Dickson Eyoh for overseeing the undergraduate program and making not only this ceremony possible, but also the achievements that we will honour.”

On hand too was Professor Robert Vipond, who expounded on the origins of each of the twenty-five prizes, awarded to thirty students this year.

For more information on the awards and a complete list of the 2020/2021 award winners, visit here.

To watch the ceremony visit here.