Connaught New Researcher Awards

September 17, 2020

Congratulations to Professors Elizabeth Acorn (UTSC) and Martha Balaguera Cuervo (UTM) both recipients of U of T’s Connaught New Researcher Awards.

In total, there were 56 recipients of the award this year (fourteen researchers in humanities, nine in life sciences, eight in physical sciences and engineering, and 25 in social sciences) which recognises assistant professors within the first five years of a tenure-stream academic appointment. The awards, part of U of T’s commitment to fostering excellence in research and innovation, are designed to help recipients establish a strong research program and increase their competitiveness for external funding.

The funding for the Connaught New Researcher Award comes from U of T’s Connaught Fund, which was founded in 1972 when the university sold the Connaught Medical Research Laboratories for $29 million. 

Photo: Elizabeth Acorn