News & Announcements

Clifford Orwin calls Quebec's niqab ban "unreasonable persecution"

March 29, 2010

Bad news comes in bunches. First there was Quebec’s Bill 94, which would refuse government services, public employment, educational opportunities and even most medical care to Muslim women wearing the niqab. Then there was the Angus Reid poll showing that 80 per cent of all Canadians agree with this measure. Evidently Abe Lincoln was right. […]

Keep Reading

Lorne Sossin appointed Dean of Osgoode Hall Law School

March 8, 2010

Political science professor Lorne Sossin will become the new dean of York University’s law school, starting July 1, 2010.

Keep Reading

Erin Fitzgerald wins Rhodes Scholarship

January 11, 2010

Erin Fitzgerald, a fourth-year student in international relations and political science, is off to study at the University of Oxford next year, courtesy of a Rhodes scholarship.

Keep Reading

Ramin Jahanbegloo wins UN Peace prize

October 30, 2009

Research Fellow Ramin Jahanbegloo is the recipient of the 30th Peace Prize awarded by the United Nations Association in Spain (UNA).

Keep Reading

Robert Sparling wins Strauss Award

August 18, 2009

Recent PhD graduate Robert Sparling is the 2009 recipient of the Leo Strauss Award for his doctoral dissertation on Johann Georg Hamann and the Enlightenment Project. The Leo Strauss Award is made annually by the American Political Science Association for the best doctoral dissertation in in the field of political philosophy. Congratulations to Robert and […]

Keep Reading

Iran's cyber-revolution aided by Professor Ronald Deibert

July 9, 2009

The Globe and Mail reports that Psiphon, a censorship avoidance tool developed by University of Toronto Political Science Professor Ronald Deibert, is being used throughout Iran to ‘push’ government-blocked Internet content to Iranian activists. See the full story at

Keep Reading

Graham White named President-Elect of the Canadian Political Science Association

June 16, 2009

Graham White has been named President-Elect of the Canadian Political Science Association. His term as President will run from June 2010 to June 2011.

Keep Reading

CIC Research Fellowship Program releases inaugural paper

June 15, 2009

The CIC Research Program is proud to present the inaugural final paper from its 2008/2009 fellowship program. In this paper, Dr. Franklyn Griffiths calls for a complete overhaul in the way Canadians think of, and the way Canada acts towards, the Arctic as a region.

Keep Reading

David Wolfe named Royal Bank Chair in Public and Economic Policy

June 14, 2009

David Wolfe has been named the Royal Bank Chair in Public and Economic Policy. The chair supports research initiatives and provides intellectual leadership in the areas of public and economic policy research, development and implementation.

Keep Reading

Vincent Pouliot wins Lemieux Dissertation Prize

June 14, 2009

Recent PhD graduate Vincent Pouliot was awarded the CPSA’s Vincent Lemieux Dissertation Prize at the 2009 CPSA Conference in Ottawa for his thesis entitled Security Community In and Through Practice: The Power Politics of Russia-NATO Diplomacy. The two other finalists were also recent U of T graduates Martin Papillon and Robert Sparling.

Keep Reading