It is a pleasure to review a good department with good morale, one which has bright, hardworking people, good staff, recognition and achievement. It is the best political science department in Canada. It is a highly reputable one in North America, Europe and around the world. — External Review Committee

Upcoming Events

Sovereignty as Stigma: Opting Out of an Ever Closer Union

Thursday, March 22, 2012
12:00 pmto2:00 pm

The Department of Political Science Presents:

Sovereignty as Stigma: Opting Out of an Ever Closer Union

Speaker: Dr. Rebecca Adler-Nissen, University of Copenhagen

Chair: Prof. Emanuel Adler, University of Toronto

Date: Thursday, March 22, 2012
Time: 12:00 PM – 2:00 PM
Location: 108N – Seminar Room, North House
Munk School of Global Affairs, 1 Devonshire Place

Register online at:

Dr Rebecca Adler-Nissen is Assistant Professor at the Department of Political Science, University of Copenhagen and Visiting Scholar at the Centre for International Peace and Security Studies at McGill University in the spring of 2012. Her main interests are International Relations theory, sovereignty, diplomacy, European integration (especially the euro, economic cooperation and the common European asylum, migration and security policies). She directs a research project on European integration and postcolonialism (Routledge, 2012, forthcoming) and is editor of Bourdieu in International Relations: Rethinking Key Concepts (Routledge, 2012, forthcoming) and co-editor of Sovereignty Games: Instrumentalizing State Sovereignty in Europe and beyond (Palgrave, 2008). Moreover, she has published several articles on European integration, sovereignty and the transformation of diplomacy. She is former Head of Section in the Danish Ministry of Foreign Affairs (2010-2011) and has a diplome from the Institut d’Etudes Politiques in Paris and has been Visiting Researcher at the European University Institute.

Department of Political Science PhD Awards Reception

Thursday, March 22, 2012
4:00 pmto5:30 pm

*This event is by invitation only*

Thursday, March 22 from 4 to 5:30pm in SS3037

This event is to honour and congratulate our PhD students who were awarded a scholarship this academic year or who continue to hold an award won in a previous year.  The awards we are including are all of those applied for through the Political Science Graduate Office.  Please check the list below to see who our 2011-12 award holders are.

We are also taking this opportunity to thank individuals who have donated generously to the department allowing us to create many of our departmental dissertation and entrance awards*.


Canada Graduate Scholarship – Doctoral
Gabriel Arsenault
Stephan Ferrarao
Marie Gagne
Jean Lachapelle
Marion Laurence
Lindsay Mahon
Heather Millar
Matthieu Mondou
Alex Paquin-Pelletier
Izabela Steflja
Lahoma Thomas
Social Sciences and Humanities Council Doctoral Scholarship
Kate Korycki
Wilfrid Greaves
Hannah Moosa
Janique Dubois
Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship
Kiran Banerjee
Paul  Thomas
Ontario Graduate Scholarship
Adrian Atanasescu
Khalid Ahmed
Larissa Atkison
Robert Ballingall
Jeffrey Bercuson
Megan Dersnah
Carey Doberstein
Alena Drieschova
Yannick Dufresne
Kevin Edmonds
Beth Evans
Shelly Ghai
Anna Gradek
Matthew Hamilton
Jennifer Hove
Conrad Kokzorowski
Meredith Kravitz
Chris LaRoche
Nathan Litwin
Bruce Lyth
Milena Pandy
Jelena Popovic
Nicholas Ruderman
Cameron Sabadoz
Jerald Sabin
Jonas Schwab-Pflug
Jessica Soedirgo
Mauricio Suchowlansky
Hamish van der Ven
Dorina Verli
David Zarnett
*Departmental Dissertation and Entrance Awards
Shelly Ghai, C.B. Macpherson Dissertation Fellowship
David Houle, Department of Political Science Student Award
Levin Jamie, Graduate Fellowships in the Department of Political Science
Elliot Storm, Professor Emeritus Frank Peers Graduate Research Scholarship in the Department of Political Science
Anna Shamaeva, Vincent Tovell Graduate Scholarship in International Relations
Paul  Breschter, Ken Bryden  Scholarship in Canadian Government and Politics
Adrienne  Davidson, Ken Bryden  Scholarship in Canadian Government and Politics
Sarah Rich-Zendel, Royal Bank Award
Carey  Doberstein, Alumni and Friends Graduate Scholarship
Abraham Singer, Jackman Jr. Fellow
Danielle  Schillinger, Connaught International Scholarhip

Senior Thesis Information Session

Wednesday, March 21, 2012
3:00 pmto6:00 pm
Thursday, March 22, 2012
4:00 pmto6:00 pm

The Department of Political Science Presents the Senior Thesis Information Session

Senior thesis programs have become the norm at top undergraduate programs in North America. Going into its 8th year, our Senior Thesis Program provides a wonderful opportunity to develop your academic skills to another level and to work closely with a faculty member on your own research project. If you are considering graduate work or if you are interested in getting into an in-depth research project, please attend this session and find out if the Senior Thesis Program is right for you.

When? Wednesday, March 21, 2012  3 pm – 4 pm

This will be followed by project presentations of  current Senior Thesis students from 4 pm—6 pm.

There will also be another presentation on Thursday, March 22, 2012, 4 pm—6 pm

Where? Sidney Smith Hall, Room 3130

100 St. George St. Toronto, ON M5S 3G3

Please note that the best accessible access is via the covered ramp on the west side of the building. Powered doors allow full access to the patio on both sides of the building. There are accessible washrooms on floors B, 1, and 2.  If you require an accommodation due to a disability please contact Carolyn Ursabia by March 16, 2012.  We will work with you to make appropriate arrangements.

The 2012 US Presidential Election … through a Rearview Mirror and a Crystal Ball

Thursday, March 22, 2012
5:00 pmto7:00 pm

CSUS and F. Ross Johnson Distinguished Speaker Series

Date: Thursday, March 22, 2012
Time: 5 pm – 7 pm
Location: 108N, North House


Michael Martinez, Professor and Chair of the Department of Political Science at the University of Florida


Michael Martinez is Professor and Chair of the Department of Political Science at the University of Florida. He earned his PhD at the University of Michigan, and has had visiting appointments at Texas A&M, the University of British Columbia, and the University of Calgary (as a Fulbright Scholar). His research on ambivalence in public opinion, voter turnout, partisanship, and ideology in the United States and Canada has appeared in many scholarly journals, including: “Journal of Politics” “American Journal of Political Science,” “Canadian Journal of Political Science,” “Political Behavior,” “Political Psychology,” “Public Opinion Quarterly,” and “American Politics Research.” He teaches graduate seminars and undergraduate courses in political behaviour, research methods, and American politics.


Department of Political Science, University of Toronto

Events Calendar

March 2012

Recent Publications

Get the Flash Player to see the slideshow.
» See All Recent Publications